Thursday , April 15 2021
Home / News / ICC nominates Rashid Khan for a decade award

ICC nominates Rashid Khan for a decade award

Afghanistan’s national cricket team has achieved in a short period of time what other countries did in the decades.

Afghan players’ team efforts along with the individual performances were the key force behind Afghanistan cricket’s outstanding journey in the last two decades.

Afghan Rashid Khan, who has started international cricket nearly half a decade ago, has now been nominated for a decade award to be given away to the winners by International Cricket Council (ICC) through a voting system.

The International Cricket Council for the first time ever has announced awards of the recent decade for the best players and teams across the format.

Leg spin magician Rashid Khan has been been the only Afghan player nominated for the award of the best T20 player of the decade along with prolific international cricketers.

Australian Aaron Finch, Indian Virat Kohli, South African Imran Tahir, Indian Rohit Sharma, Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga, and West Indian Chris Gayle are the other candidates for the mentioned award along with Afghan Rashid Khan.
Overall, the International Cricket Council (ICC) will award the best players and teams of the decade in 11 different categories by a voting system.

In addition to the above-mentioned award, Player of the decade, ODI player, Test player, teams of the decades, and spirit of the cricket awards will be given to the winners too.

India’s national cricket team captain, Virat Kohli, is the only player nominated in five different categories for decade awards.

The International Cricket Council has announced prizes for the winner voters too as they will receive a variety of prizes including tickets and hospitality in the 2021 T2OI world cup in India along with some other prizes.

The voting has started on the 25th of November and the voters all around the world will be able to cast their votes for their favorite and deserving ones till the 16th of the next month December.


About Ibrahim Momand

Check Also

Karim Sadiq among three others signed for LPL

After a nearly eight-years wait, the Sri Lankan Cricket Board is once again is gearing …

%d bloggers like this: